Log in
A+ A A-

AEK become champions after 24 years

AEK Athens have been crowned Greek football champions after 24 years! The Athenian club, who only needed a draw to clinch the title, defeated Levadiakos (2-0) at the  before an ecstatic home crowd of 60,000 fans who had been in a celebratory mood all Sunday waiting for the moment their players would cross the finish line first.

For the record, Bakasetas scored a brace (12’ and 32) to make it 2-0. AEK had won 11 Greek league titles trailing Olympiakos and Panathinaikos for most titles won.

It should be noted that there is a pending decision by the  Greek football federation (EPO) appeals committee on the outcome of the match between PAOK and AEK at Toumba stadium which might affect the outcome (for now).