Log in
A+ A A-

Andrew Manatos Installed as Senator for Orthodoxy and Hellenism

Featured Andrew Manatos Installed as Senator for Orthodoxy and Hellenism

During the Apostolic Visit of His All Holiness Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew to the US, Andrew Manatos was installed as a member of the first class of “Senators for Orthodoxy and Hellenism.” This ceremony took place on October 24 at the St. Sophia Cathedral in Washington, DC and was presided over by His Eminence Elder-Metropolitan Emmanuel of Chalcedon and His Eminence Archbishop of America Elpidophoros.

In presenting this “distinction of the highest order” to men and women who “have produced a hundredfold through their harvests of leadership," Archbishop Elpidophoros said that:
"The Senators are an elite group of clergy, laymen and laywomen, who have served the Sacred Archdiocese of America in various and extremely significant capacities for decades. They represent a collective memory of the institutional Church that is invaluable to our future as a growing and prospering Community in Christ. Their induction today by His Eminence Elder-Metropolitan Emmanuel of Chalcedon manifests their importance and inestimable value to the Archdiocese as a whole."


His Eminence continued by saying, "They bow their heads to receive Your blessing for them to continue their service to this Eparchy and to the Great Church of Christ. As they serve in a capacity as ex-officio members of the Archdiocesan Council, their counsel and guidance are invaluable. We humbly ask that You bestow upon them your archpaternal benediction, so that in good health and spiritual prosperity, they may continue to minister to the Body of Christ.

We implore Your prayers for these Senators of Orthodoxy and Hellenism, that they may always raise high the Cross of our Lord Jesus Christ — our unconquerable trophy banner — and that they may magnify the appreciation of our Hellenic ideals and Paideia, both here in the United States and around the world."


The 12 lay members and 17 priests appointed to the first class of Senators for Orthodoxy and Hellenism are as follows:

Mr. Clifford Argue
Mr. Constantine Caras
Mr. Fred Chapekis
Mrs. Mary Jaharis
Mr. Stamatios Kartalopoulos
Mr. Andrew Manatos
Mr. George Marcus
Mr. John Payiavlas
Miss Paulette Poulos
Dr. Louis Roussalis
Mrs. Aphrodite Skeadas
Dr. Roy Vagelos

Fr. John Bakas
Fr. Peter Chamberas
Fr. Paul Costopoulos
Fr. Athanasios Demos
Fr. George Dragas
Fr. Alexander Karloutsos
Fr. Stephen Kyriacou
Fr. Alexander Leondis
Fr. John Metaxas
Fr. James Moulketis
Fr. Dean Paleologos
Fr. Thomas Paris
Fr. George Poulos
Fr. Sarantos Serviou
Fr. Constantine Sitaras
Fr. Robert Stephanopoulos
Fr. Dionysios Strouzas
Fr. Alexander Veronis