Log in
A+ A A-

Closed Professions Committee formed

A new forty member committee, comprising representatives from all ministries and secretariats will be set up to register "closed professions."

The establishment of the committee was made by recommendation of the Minister of Finance, Gikas Hardouvelis and within three months must register professions working in the service industry, to assess whether these were "liberalized," to record whether there are obstacles to the "liberalization" and to propose, based on international practice, a new round of "opening professions".

In particular, the decision, entitled "Creation, composition and appointment of members of an inter-Ministerial Working Group on the evaluation of hitherto legislative and administrative actions to liberalize professions, record existing limitations and make recommendations for further liberalization where it will be judged if it is to the benefit of the public interest," delineates that it will take into account EU legislation and best practices in countries of the European Union, and the protection of the public interest will be:

- The establishment of a full updated list of all occupations / activities and the financial responsibility of each Ministry / Secretariat and the recording of the current legislation.

- The inventory and evaluation of all required documents / requirements for the initiation and pursuit of regulated professions / economic activities, based on the principles of necessity, proportionality, and non-discrimination.

- The proposals for legislative or administrative actions necessary to remove disproportionate restrictions and reduce administrative burdens.

Also this interministerial working group, under the project:

- Will have the ability to call meetings of experts on professions and related market operations, for information, suggestions, clarifications, etc., as well as employees of public or semi-public agencies in matters within their competence.

- Through a decision of the coordinator and depending on the needs of the project can be divided into subgroups, with representatives of the Administrative Reform and e-Governance Ministries and the Centre for Planning and Economic Research able to participate in all these subgroups.