Log in
A+ A A-

Agrafa will forever remain "Untrodden Mountains"

Featured Agrafa will forever remain "Untrodden Mountains"

The legendary Agrafa mountains, the heart of mountainous Greece, with the unique wildlife habitats and species of the subalpine and alpine zone, has been declared a member of the unique family of the "Untrodden Mountains".

By Ministerial Decision of the Deputy Minister of Environment and Energy, Giorgos Amyras, 'Agrafa' with a total area of ​​94.42 square kilometers and an altitude range of 1,747 meters (from 371 to 2,118 m.) acquire a status of strict protection with their inclusion in the "Untrodden Mountains" project.

The "Untrodden Mountains" is an initiative of the Ministry of the Environment, which is scientifically based on a study by the University of Ioannina and Professor Kati. This means that the opening of roads and the creation of any artificial surface are prohibited in these areas, in order to protect their unique biodiversity.

This protection entails:

The area of ​​Western Agrafa with an area of ​​84 square kilometers which includes the protected areas of the "Natura 2000" network with the code name GR2430002 "Agrafa Mountains", Special Protection Zone (ZEP) for the bird fauna and GR1410002 "'Agrafa", Special Conservation Zone (EZD).
The Southern area of ​​Agrafon Municipal Unit with an area of ​​10.4 square kilometers, which is a peripheral zone of an important protected area.
The mountainous regions and areas of Agrafa that are part of the "Untrodden Mountains" are very important for birds of prey, such as the Vulture (Gyps fulvus), the Golden Eagle (Aquila chrysaetos), the Peregrine Falcon (Falco peregrinus), the Serpent Eagle (Circaetus gallicus) , as well as for the Red-bellied Chough (Pyrrhocorax pyrrhocorax).

They are a habitation zone for the Balkan wild goat and the Apollo butterfly (Parnassius apollo) the populations of which are limited to the Pindos mountain range and fall within the habitation area of ​​the brown bear (Ursus arctos).

In addition to Agrafa, the "Untrodden Mountains" have already included areas in Lefka Ori, Tymfi, Smolikas, Taygetos, Mount Saos and Mount Chatzi.