Log in
A+ A A-

Motion of censure against government fails in Greek parliament

Featured Motion of censure against government fails in Greek parliament

Greek Parliament's plenary rejected a motion of censure against the government on Thursday night, collecting fewer than the required majority of votes over 300 deputies.

The motion had been tabled by main opposition SYRIZA-Progressive Alliance, PASOK-KINAL, Nea Aristera and Plefsi Eleftherias parties, who collectively received the support of 141 votes, while ruling New Democracy deputies (158) were joined by an independent deputy to reach 159 votes in total. The vote was by roll call.

According to the parliament's regulations, "A motion of censure may only be acceptable when approved by the absolute majority of the entire number of deputies."

Parliament President Constantine Tassoulas said the final tally of speakers was 163 politicans, and the three-day debate lasted over 40 hours (Tuesday morning-Thursday night, with the first two sessions lasting to 03:30 of the next day). The 163 who spoke included 26 ministers of all levels, a former prime minister, and the prime minister. It was the longest-lasting censure of motion than any other, Tassoulas said.