• JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 165
Log in
A+ A A-

Community Service Awards Honor 6 Greek-Australians

  • Written by 

Austalia's 12th Annual Moncrieff Community Awards honored six Greek-Australians, for their stellar acts of community service.

The Awards were held in Brisbane and commemorated a total of 34 citizens. The ceremony was organized by Honorary Parliamentary Secretary MP Steven Ciobo and are conducted each year, to recognize individuals who volunteer in their local communities and make a positive impact on others.

The six Greek-Australians who were honored for being of service for at least twenty years were: Peter Zerveas, Rebecca Cominos, John Alexion, Leon Cominos, Perry Arathimos, and Sophie Rafailidis. MP Ciobo stated that the selected honorees are examples of character that drives Australia to be a better nation, and referred to them as "backyard heroes," according to Neos Kosmos.